Forum > General / Nonfiction > Thread

[Q&A] PED Engineering & Effects

cgsweat
Jul 28, 2022 - edited Jul 28, 2022 - permalink
edited title to make it more compact

I know just as much or maybe slightly more than the average person. I am by no means an expert on this. I'm just creating this thread so that those who are interested can discuss PED's (Performance Enhancing Drugs, which includes steroids). Ask questions, share articles, and if you are a qualified expert/doctor then please enlighten us. If you have knowledge from personal experience, then please feel welcome to share.

I mention "engineering" in the title because I know they're always looking for ways to tweak existing or create new kinds of PED's. One thing I've always wondered is why it's seemingly so difficult to engineer a drug that targets the muscles without affecting hormone levels. Why is it that muscle growth is so dependent upon having a high level of testosterone? Or perhaps such drugs are possible already, but a low demand is keeping them from pursuing it?

Jul 28, 2022 - permalink

One thing I've always wondered is why it's seemingly so difficult to engineer a drug that targets the muscles without affecting hormone levels.

The body is very complicated, and medical science/technology has a long way to go. It's also complicated by the fact that you can't just do any experiment you want on humans. A lot of the knowledge of the precise effects of hypothermia for example come from Nazi experiments on prisoners/victims in concentration camps. That was 80 years ago and we still don't know much more because it's ethically forbidden territory.

No engineering is being done these days. The anabolic steroid technology has stopped back in the 80s. Big pharma stopped researching and producing new compounds. Politics, banning and the abuse from the sports community were the main reasons.